My First Lens

It only took a few short months after purchasing my first camera for me to desire a lens with more ‘oomph’.  I wasn’t sure what I wanted to take pictures of exactly but I knew it would involve nature. Macro? Telephoto? These were questions that I kept asking myself over and over again. In fact I worked myself up into such a rabid frenzy that I began to obsess about it.

I did some rather lengthy research to decide what I might want, and what I wanted wasnt exactly cheap. I wanted one of Canons L series lenses. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to take macro shots of flowers and insects, or nature shots of animals and wildlife. So I decided on Canon’s 70-200mm f/4L (Non IS). It gave me enough versatility to decide what I like and at a reasonable cost to do it ($800 CAN).

To say that I was happy with my lens would be an understatement. I was like a teenager walking around with a perma-boner, except I didn’t try hiding my lens under my belt. I could go on and make some good jokes right about now regarding the similarities between the two but I will spare you the visual….just know that I could lol.

I basically spent the next few months with my 70-200mm f4 permanently attached to my camera.  The first things I took photos of were flowers, plants, and bugs. I was too excited to travel far so I stuck to local parks, fields, and trails. I loved the colours and detail the lens gave me, not to mention the bokeh it created at f/4. Keep in mind this was my first few months taking photos, so they weren’t all that great.
One of the first flowers I shot with the 70-200mm (Dahlia)

Very small fungi shot at a local forest park

After a while I started to improve on my images. I began to apply some simple composition principles and my photographs began to show improvement. However I still credit the lens for allowing me the flexibility to accomplish these images. I love this lens to the point where I will only let this go to upgrade to the 70-200mm f/2.8 IS.

Red clover, shot in the evening

Cow parsnip shot from below on a crisp autumn day

This photo has some distracting elements in the bottom right section, but still has an interesting radiating pattern with vibrant colours.

The featured image in this post is of a common red squirrel I had taken during the fall of 2010. I still feel lucky to have captured such a nice shot. The fresh douglas fir cone adds so much action to the photo. I have come to call this little guy “Fred the Red”.

Late in the fall of 2010 I had an unfortunate incident where the lens was on my tripod and tipped over. I thought I caught it in time as it had barely hit the ground. Turns out I was wrong and I have had issues with the close in focusing. In the last month or so I noticed I havent been getting ‘tack sharp’ images. I am afraid I am going to have to part with my baby for a short period of time as I send it in to be fixed. Good thing I have recently purchased Canon’s 100mm f/2.8 Macro lens to keep me busy 🙂

Needless to say I’m still sporting my lens boner. Good times…..good times indeed.

I have one subscriber. Myself. I get mail sent to myself whenever I post a new story. Is that #Winning ? You can be a winner too, just park your creeper van out front of my blog and jot down my comings and goings. Happy stalking.

One thought on “My First Lens

Leave a Reply

