Snap Happy – Autumn Photography

Everyone likes a certain style or certain subject. I haven’t reached that point exactly but I know I shoot some of my best photographs in the fall. Autumn is in reality a very destructive and rapid change in the environment. There is always something going on and if you blink you will miss it. Animals are busy preparing for the long winter, the trees and shrubs are rapidly changing colours, plants are dying back, and the sky fills with such wonderful light to paint all those happenings.

Last year was my first year with a DSLR, my now trusty Canon T1i, and I was out almost daily looking for new things to take pictures of. I managed to capture some of my all time best images then.

This Mountain Ash is actually sitting next to a highway but I love the angle of the hillside next to it, and the brilliant colours of they sky, tree, and grass together. This is barely even touched up because I had no idea how to do it. This was about the time when I learned about composition for the first time.
 Mountain Ash

This image of a Highbush Cranberry was taken the same day or same week. I shot this with my new Canon 70-200mm f/4 Non-IS and absolutely loved the warm, rich colours it gave the image. It was an amazing shot for me at the time, looking back after only a year I can see room for lots of improvement.
Highbush Cranberry

I like to think I have actually improved over the course of the year. I have been going out for a few days in early September and have gotten a few images that I quite enjoy.

I snapped this cute little guy on a hike. He was snacking on a tree cone of some variety and didn’t mind me sitting there taking his picture.
Red Squirrel

A few days later in a different park across town I spotted some amazingly coloured cranberry’s. I’m not sure why I am so attracted to cranberry’s but it probably has to do with the fact that they are so vibrant and plentiful in these areas. Needless to say I had to put my Canon 100mm f2.8 Macro lens on and capture them.

Finally autumn is always a great chance to take out your beloved dog for those long afternoon walks. I captured this image of our Rottweiler puppy, who is five months old, during one of those walks. A warm evening sun paints the surrounding scenery with a soft light thats ideal for photographs. The great gold light and the forest floor compliments his gorgeous markings.
Thor

So no matter what your favourite subject, no matter how little time you have, you can always find something to shoot in the fall season. Change is action and action always makes for great subjects. Remember to stay safe if your going out into the wilderness. Bears and other predators are trying to fatten up, and you don’t want to be ‘that person’ who fills them up.

Happy Snapping,

Troy Alan White

Leave a Reply

